Measuring the ROI of your property ads
As a real estate agent you probably already measure how many sales you made last months and how many you can expect to make next month. This will affect your wage. In addition, you have a clear view of what a successful month looks like and what a less successful month has in store. Measuring the return on investment (ROI) is easy. You divide the number of work hours with your salary. Easy peasy. And most importantly - you know what success looks like.
Measuring your ads
But what about the rest? Successful sales are the tip of the iceberg. How do you get there? To get to this successful position you might have to invest money into marketing. By doing so you take a leap of faith and say: “By investing X into this ad I think I will become a more successful estate agent.”
The most common and fairly simple formula to measure ROI is the following:
Profit / total investment (people hours, ad budget, etc.) X 100 = ROI (as a percentage)
You did a campaign and it earned you 5000 € in profit.
The campaign cost you in total 400 € (People hours, ad cost etc.)
→ Your ROI = 5000 € / 400 € x 100 = 1250% (a really good ROI!)
Marketo and proverbial marketing wisdom say at least seven touches are needed in order to convert a cold lead into a sale. This might be true, but there are still ways of measuring without following your client all the way through the sales funnel.
How to measure - an example
Let’s say for a moment that the end goal of all activities is to get as many people as possible to go to your viewing. This will, after all, provide you with the necessary touch points you need to make the next sale. Also having an extra bidder or two can highly affect the bidding process.
- You invest 50 € in an ad on social media to increase your expected number of viewers.
- Your ad gets 4000 impressions and receives 400 clicks - nice going!
- This gives you a CTR (Click Through Rate) of 10% (=400/4000).
- Every click you get cost you 12.5 cents (50€/400).
- Let’s pretend you get six people at the viewing, where three actually saw your ad.
- This means that one extra viewing generated by your ad cost you 17 €.
Learn and evolve
By comparing your CTR with the final cost for an extra viewing, you’ll quite quickly see how a successful ad performs. The more people you get to your listings page, the more likely you are to get more people on the viewing.
- Be aware of what kind of activities you are doing
- Set a goal (i.e. I expect this ad to generate three more people at this specific viewing.)
- Follow up
- Don’t make the same mistake twice.
It’s totally fine to make mistakes in your marketing. By measuring and determining if your activity was successful or not, you avoid making the same mistake twice. You learn. And you evolve. Better and more precise marketing = more goals reached and less money spent = more profit for you.
Therefore - know what success looks like. It makes it much easier to reach it and go beyond it.
What Adfenix does to help
Since Adfenix is in the business of helping real estate agents with their social media advertising, measuring becomes a vital part of what we do. The Home Booster solution bumps up your CTR drastically by showing your ad to the most relevant people out there. This means that the people viewing the ad are people very likely to want to buy the property you’re selling. At the same time, we measure how much of the traffic to your website is generated by Adfenix and how much is generated by other sources. The outcome is highly effective advertising on social media.